Well ive been playing for quite a while now but im only self taught. I have basic middle school band knowledge of music but am in college now so its sort of faded. I find myself extremely bored b/c my arsenal has not expanded for soloing or riffing in so long.

I have a dumb dumb question but it needs answering really bad.

I only solo over the 1. That is, if im jammin, i only solo in one scale up and down an E for instance and go figure- its the pentatonic... How do I solo over more than just the 1? and I mean I dont know what other scales would work over what chords...how do i use the whole neck instead of just one position.

Please save my guitar experience! Thanks for all help- much appreciated!
Learn your theory.

Learn how the major scale works and learn how to harmonise it to create chords. Harmonising a scale gives you the chords of that key - because the chords all contain notes from that scale you can happily use that scale over those chords.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Let me see if I know what you mean. I assume you're talking about the box position that so many beginner guitarists use over and over again. Correct?
If that's what you're talking about, I'm right here with you dude. I've tried to do some research on scales, etc. and it's done very little for me. Google is no substitute for a real music teacher.
Guys, please answer this guys question. It would extremely help me, too. Who knows? It could help lots of people!
Quote by Unit 731
Let me see if I know what you mean. I assume you're talking about the box position that so many beginner guitarists use over and over again. Correct?