Hey guys.
Is there a better way to set up a bass to minimize string breakages? Im a guitarist first so if theres any tips to prevent this (apart from the boiling trick) I'd really appreciate knowing. I have a bridge like this; http://www.bassemporium.com/images_products/allpartsbb0336010.jpg and I usually break my B's and E's. I wouldn't mind 1 every now and then. But I've broken one of each of these every week for the last month or so. We have been gigging (and thankfully they've never broken on stage). What am I doing wrong? I do acknowledge I'm not exactly tender with them but I don't even break guitar strings that often (with regular gigging etc). I play with a pick which contributes to it aswell, I'm sure. But yeah, I appreciate any helo you guys can give
Well I think you must either be stringing the bass incorrectly or plucking/picking too hard. In my years playing bass, I have snapped only two strings, both of which were original on my first bass, and had been on for more than a year...

What strings do you use? What bass do you have? This info helps dude.
MEBBEH U SHUD LERN 2 USE OTHER 2 STRINGS AS WELL LOLS GRINDCOAR IS TOO HÆVVI

jokes aside, i've played bass for 4 years and NEVER broken a string, so that sounds incredibly weird to me. where do the strings break? maybe you put them on wrong.

EDIT: fail wording
Ibanez RGT6EXFX -> Ibanez TS9 -> Korg Pitchblack -> Peavey 5150 II head -> Mesa Rectifier 2x12 cab
Quote by Blackvelvet
I play with a pick which contributes to it aswell, I'm sure. But yeah, I appreciate any helo you guys can give

That's strange.. I'm no expert because I don't really consider myself a proper bassist, but the only time I've ever broken strings is through extended slapping and popping. I've never broken a bass string from pick use.

EDIT:
Quote by seemeel
you must either be stringing the bass incorrectly

This is the only conclusion I can come up with too.

DON'T MAKE ME DESTROY YOU!

TURN OFF YOUR MIND RELAX AND FLOAT DOWNSTREAM