Hey guys,
im a guitarist in a couple of bands, one i play guitar with another guitarist but the other is a twosome with just guitar and drums. I need a distortion or metal pedal that i can use to have a massive tone but with hopefully not much noise when being used loud. I currently use the Digitech Distortion Pedal but its pretty pathetic and during rehearsal i have to cover my ears because of the screeching. the only one i had in mind was a Mad Professor Mighty Red but was wondering if there were any other ideas. My current line is a Fender Jaguar/Dean z79 into a Marshall (cant remember the name)
Hope you can help
The Boss MT-2 Metal Zone, pedal is a great distortion pedal. Mix it with a stereo chorus(have the pedal activated, but turn all the settings to zero) to get more bottom end and you can get an awesome "big sound"
Quote by charles_ebarb
The Boss MT-2 Metal Zone, pedal is a great distortion pedal. Mix it with a stereo chorus(have the pedal activated, but turn all the settings to zero) to get more bottom end and you can get an awesome "big sound"

DO NOT get the MT-2 unless you plan on Keeley modding it! I used to have an MT-2 and trust me it is not good at all. Look at the Digitech Hardwire TL-2 distortion pedal. The MT-2 sounds very "nasally" and like "bees in a can".
Ibanez RGR421EXFM >> Maxon OD808 >> BOSS NS-2 >> Peavey 5150 212
Quote by charles_ebarb

The MT-2, imo, left a lot to be desired in terms of a balanced "big" sound.

I would recommend getting a distortion pedal, such as the DS-1, DS-2, any MXR overdrive or distortion work very well for this, too. Put the pedal in your signal chain over an already slightly overdriven clean amp sound and roll back pedal tone, and up tone on the amp higher than your preferred setting. If you need sparkling clean, then roll back volume.
Quote by santa_man99
THANK you. I love you forever.

Quote by DrFuzz
Why are you researching for Christmas? It's only Ma- HOLY CRAP WHERE'S 2009 GONE!?!?!?

Quote by ilikepirates