I'm kinda new to bass still, where is a good webpage that has lists of scales? What do I gain from them too? Is it technique?
Quote by Trent Armitage
I'm kinda new to bass still, where is a good webpage that has lists of scales? What do I gain from them too? Is it technique?

http://www.studybass.com/

its basic music theory, are you trying to learn an instrument? yes? then learn to be a musician.

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Scales are the building block of music. If you are going to write well, then you learn the correct grammar and spelling for the language at hand. If you want to play music and understand what you are playing--learn your scales and the related theory.

Scales train your ears to hear intervals and assist in your understanding of chord theory as well. Learning and hearing scales promote your ability to play by ear and learn to write and play your own bass lines.

Scales build strength and muscle memory in your hands. Want to learn your way around a fret board? Scales in two octaves will build this skill quickly.
I had meant to post in this thread when you first made it, but got distracted by an IM.

Anyways, I was basically going to say the same thing as Anarkee; it's something you should learn to recognize, because, more often than not, you will be (or at least, SHOULD be) writing in a scale. I wish I'd focused on scales when I started; it really would have helped me.

That being said....

Anarkee, I've never though about doing a scale in two octaves; at which points do you switch strings?
There are several ways to Sunday to play in two octaves. If I have time, I'll try to tab something out and post it up in this thread or PM you.

G|----------------|--------111314--|
D|----------------|--111214--------|
A|--------7-9-1112|14--------------|
E|5-7-9-10--------|----------------|