Page 1 of 2
I've been playing electric guitar for two years and I want to start learning bass guitar for the purpose of starting a band. I have always wanted to learn bass so I am now really considering it as all my friends who play guitar are much better than me. How hard is it to transition from electric guitar to bass? And how long will it take (average) to be able to play full songs we have written? the type of music we will be playing is basically a A7X and Throwdown combo. A mix of metal and hardcore punk. Thanks
"I'd rather die on my feet than live on my knees"- "Watch Me Rise"-Have Heart
A week maximum. It ain't that hard. As time passes by (A7X quote FTW) you'll find it even easier to pull off some cool bass lines while the guitarists play.
Any reccomendations for a bass? I am on a budget 300$ TOPS, i don't mind going used, and remember we are like a concept band
Even if you go used, there's no way you can play in a band w/ just 300 dollars. You'll need a bass amp and cab, and dont expect to use your guitar rig w/ out frying your speakers.
we have amps galore, i got a bass amp for free a while ago, i just need a cheap ass bass
note that the bass obviously has a longer scale length which takes some time to get used to.

Are you looking for a 4 string? or 5 or 6?
A few pieces of advice

Buy a Squier 70s VM, they will not fail you.

70% of the time you should be buying a new amp rather than a new bass.

Most of the nuances in tone come from technique and touch. This does't mean the amp/strings/bass/etc don't influence. (They make your sound) But, as I said "nuances" they will help you in shaping your tone and making it... "more you".

Treat the bass as a bass. This doesn't mean only playing rhythm or whatever. This only means learn/love/cherish the instrument and he'll pay you back.