Hi, I've been playing for about 2 years now, but haven't really taken it too seriously, but I have decided to try my hand at songwriting. I have written about 8 songs so far that aren't anything special, but I enjoy playing them. They are all in standard tuning. I don't really know anything about other tunings, but was wondering what other ones are? My songs are all in the pop music realm. I want to experiment with other tunings that maybe cater to this type of music and folk/country music also. Sorry if I sound clueless, but I kinda am!!!
drop D - drop your thick E two frets
down half a step - tune all strings down one fret
D standard - All Strings down 2 frets
drop C - all strings down 2 frets and thick E (now D) 2 more
C Standard - all strings 4 frets

pretty much goes on like this. try searching internet on more detailed explanation cos i probably havnt explained very well

i find most of these are best for metal though, never thought about pop
When I was eleven I broke the patio window and my mother sued me... She's always been a very aggressive litigator.
Go for it... if you want to learn open tunings... then do it. They create a sudden rush of ideas when you get going in the tuning.... easier ways of playing expensive chords.

There is an old Guitar Player magazine that had a bunch of tunings in it... the article was titled "50 ways to leave your standard tuning" by Mark Hanson in Frets magazine (a GP pub)... iow, 50 delicious and some very adventurous tunings in there. In the first 15 or so they give a bach tune to try in the various tunings, a way to get aquainted with it I guess. Search for it... I'm sure you could find it. Hal Leonard and a coupla other publications have books on the subject.

The poster above... that is not an open tuning... more like DADGAD and CGCGAD or CACABD or EBEG#BE or bla bla bla

And here is a list of them... http://www.museweb.com/ag/tunings/fm_tunings.html

and here: http://peloton.radford.edu/brett/wilcox/alternate_tunings