Page 1 of 2
Hey All,

I'm faced with somewhat of a dilemma right now, and thought I'd share it with you all so I could get some friendly advice. My friend has a friend who would sell me his Peavey Valveking 112 Combo for $275, but I don't really have the time to go and try it out and there's another guy who is interested in buying it. A decision has to be made fairly soon.

I play Classic Rock, (Pink Floyd, Led Zep) Hard Rock, (Deep Purple, Jimi Hendrix) Punk Rock, (The Clash, The Stooges) Gothic Rock (Joy Division, Bauhaus) and Early Metal. (Black Sabbath, Motorhead)

Is the Valveking 112 capable of these genres and sounds?

I'm not the best player, but not the worst either. I've been playing on and off for 3 years and I want a good Tube Amp that fits my needs. I jam occasionally, but I would say I rarely play live. I'm a Hobbyist, but I can appreciate the quality stuff that gives you the quality tone.

Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

-Major Bludd
Last edited by Major Bludd at Jun 9, 2010,
Yeah, I would go for it. The VK isn't my FAVORITE amp but I haven't had the heart to sell it yet. That's a good deal and the 112 is better than the 212 imo.

It's capable. You might want to mod it later on. Especially the speaker.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
Yes, but you need to change the speaker, tubes and add an EQ pedal to really get the best sound.
Quote by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.

Quote by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Raijouta,

I'm glad you asked. I have a MXR 10-Band EQ, and plan on (eventually) changing the speaker, tubes, and even the light from red to blue! (The VK thread says you can do this, though I have no idea how - where do you get the replacement part in a different color?)