Many people are deterred from learning to play guitar anywhere past 20, because they don't want a teacher, and whenever they look on the internet they are directed towards a guide that claims to be able to teach you "Stairway to Heaven" in 10 minutes! These guides are useless and normally just a money grabbing scheme. After looking for a while I have found a guide, it's not perfect but if you had the same problems as me whilst starting out on guitar, this will be a great help along the way!

So if you have ended up on Ultimate Guitar struggling to start, please visit
Adult Guitar Lessons
I don't see why learning to play after 20, 30 50, 60 should be any different than picking up an instrument as a teenager and learning to play. Why does age matter?

I started playing when I was just turning 17 and I thought that was late. I'm in my 20's now and I'm still learning every day- it will be a learning process for the rest of my life. Who cares?
Age does not matter at all. If you want to play you can. Also this seems like advertising to me. Is that against forum rules?
*reported*
Like anyone is going to be daft enough to click on that link.

Besides, what difference does being an adult make?
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Apart from this obvious and ridiculous advertising you are NEVER too old to learn any instrument. To even suggest such a thing is preposterous.

Ibanez SGT520VS Sage Series Acoustic
Yamaha FG720S-12 12 String Acoustic
Schecter C-1 Classic
Crate Flexwave FW65 Combo Amp
Nice try!

still on the topic of age - I first picked up a guitar when I was 18 but gave it up within a year or so while taking lessons for a couple of months)