About a year ago, my mom was given a guitar by one of her friends; he was moving, and didn't really want it. She gladly accepted, excited to learn to play, and then promptly forgot about it entirely. She eventually decided to store it in my room, under my bed, because she didn't feel like having it around; it's been in our possession for about a year, without really being cared for (sad, I know; I wish I would have taken care of it from the beginning). The input jack was broken when we got it, which led to me never really bothering with it; I'm a bassist anyways, and have never really cared to learn guitar.
Today, I finally bothered fixing the input jack, and cleaning it (good god, it needed it.... the fretboard was disgusting, and I could swear I found chocolate on the back..... I chose not to question the previous owner about this), as well as treating the fretboard with oil, and ran it through my bass amp, to find it working. Now that I'm beginning to actually use it, however, I noticed a problem; the spacing from the strings to the fretboard is three to four times larger at the twelfth fret than it is at the nut....

I don't know much about guitars, but I'm guessing this means that the neck is warped, and pretty badly?
If so, how would I go about fixing this?
That sounds pretty extreme, but try adjusting the truss rod BUT if you don't know how to properly do this I'd suggest going to a shop and having them check it out.
May not be neck warping at all; it may just have insanely high action. What guitar is it?
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
A Yamaha EG 112; basically just a wanna-be strat, from what I can tell, but I don't know much about guitars.

Also, I have no idea what to do as far as the truss rod; I've never had to adjust one.