*Warning: Wall of Text ahead. If you're here strictly for the prons, scroll down*

If finally came, friends. I know many fellow metalheads here are in similar situations; you have so many dreams and goals, the only thing stopping you is having gear that you aren't 100% satisfied with. I have been doing research since June of 2009, trying to find the perfect guitar for me. I played an Ibanez RG2EX1, which is a fine guitar. RG shape, 24 fret, V7/V8 pickups (which are actually very good for stock), everything was going good. However, as my musical tastes began to grow and my overflowing ambition to become the best and most versatile guitarist I could possibly be became apparent, I started noticing flaws in my RG.

It was made of basswood, which I liked at first. Roll down the tone knob a bit and you got yourself a very nice jazzy tone. Then I started listening to stuff like the Chris Duarte Group (a great blues rock band if you’ve never heard of them), and I really wanted to get a bright sound out of my guitar. That was something the EQ on my Roland Cube could not handle. So I decided that my next guitar will be a strat. Then I was like lol nah. I don’t want to bore you by describing the rigorous journey I had to go though to find the perfect guitar. Instead I’ll tell you the story of how I found the one I just bought.