I'm looking into a new amp, specifically a Bugera 6262. It only has 2 channels, and I need to have a boost for a solo volume. I'm pretty new at this sort of stuff, and I was wondering if you guys could help me out a bit. Be ready for some noob questions

Would the best way be to just put the pedal in between the guitar and the amp? and then just turn it on when i need a solo volume/tone. Should i use the pedal on clean channel or lead channel?

Or since the amp has an effects loop, should I put the pedal in the effects loop. In that case, how does the effects loop work, and would it actually boost my volume?

Thanks in advance for the help
Ibanez prestige
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Deltatone 5 string bass

Line 6 Valve HD100
Randall 412 XL with V30s
i would suggest a volume pedal since your amp's foot switch does not have a volume boost
Boost/OD/distortion/fuzz pedals go inbetweem your guitar and your amp, correct.

If you want to just boost the volume (maybe add a slight bit of gain) for a solo, then I would reccomend buying a good OD pedal, turning the gain nealy to zero, the volume/level to full, putting that inbetween your guitar and your amp, and turning it one when you solo.

Ibanez Tubescreamers (or clone) are good, standard boost pedals that many people use.

EDIT: You need the amp on the dirty channel before you turn on the boost.
"In modern music, a lot of people are really stuck on the example, asif it were the idea. It takes millions of examples to articulate an idea, so don't get stuck on the f*cking example." - Joshua Homme, 2008.
Fuzzlove: If i do what you suggest, and buy a good OD pedal, would i just stay on the lead channel then, when i turn on the OD pedal for a solo?
Ibanez prestige
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Deltatone 5 string bass

Line 6 Valve HD100
Randall 412 XL with V30s
what kind of music do you play? i leave my overdrive pedal on all the time while i play it drives the tubes harder.
Quote by xanubisx