My 1st Post

Well the thing is that Ive been playing guitar for about 9-10 months. When got my guitar I got right away to playing. I downloaded Guitar Pro and started learning from there. I did learn a lot since I can now play some songs. But i can only play basic things, Power chords (songs like Blitzkrieg Bop, Iron man, Breaking the law etc. )the classics. songs that don't require much speed or exp. and thats pretty much it.

Now that Ive been trying more complex stuff there are some things that i don't understand. professional guitar things, or idk what to call it . i never worried much about that when i got my guitar i just got straight to playing. If i had gone to a music school i would've probably learned all this things but i couldn't afford it.

So basically what i'm trying to say is that i want to learn everything about guitar playing to become an advanced player. And what better place to learn than with the experts here at UG

Anything you say will help!
Thank you.
Buy the book called:
Harmony and Theory by Musician's Institute.
It's the theory book that I used that I highly recommend. Im not saying this is the best book and I'm sure other UG'ers have good experiences with other books but this is the one I used and is excellent... Happy Learning,
Salgala2000
Well, honestly, if you can, maybe you can try finding a teacher, because theres some things that you can only do with a teacher that you can't do online. Mainly technique examination, and having someone teach you irl.
Quote by salgala2000
Buy the book called:
It's the theory book that I used that I highly recommend. Im not saying this is the best book and I'm sure other UG'ers have good experiences with other books but this is the one I used and is excellent... Happy Learning,
Salgala2000

+1
or Download Lick Library harmony and theory basics.
On playing the Paul Gilbert signature at the guitar store extensively, my missus sighed:
"Put it down now, It's like you love that guitar more than me!"