Hi guys,

Just looked at the Squier California Series Strat. Why does it have better looking paint than the fender standards, three times the price of the squier?

And it sounds almost as good!

I'm looking for a guitar around that price range. So this is about 150$ to 450$ range.

So will it be the squier or the Yamaha Pacifica 012 or Pacifica 112?

The Squier seems to sound almost as good as the fender strat mim standard.

Any real help please?

I need a guitar that'll last me through high school and college. I'm planning to just change the pickups when I want better sound.

Will it work? This is gonna be my first electric right now I own a Yamaha f310. And I'm 13 years old. I'm a good guitarist for 1 1/2 years so I want a guitar that I can buy now and upgrade later.

Q#1
If I change the pick ups to the same ones of an MIA fender strat, will it sound almost or the same?

Q#2
I think the Yamahas are good too. Will i go with it? the 012 is almost twice the price of the squier.

I'm considering just buying a cheap guitar now only to improve on expensive stuff later-even if it costs more then a Fender MIM strat because I want the guitar as early as possible.
Last edited by rock0n247 at Jun 12, 2010,
What styles of music do you play?
What amp are you using?
Where are you located?
Willing to go used?
If you want the real strat shape not only something that's "almost there", get the Squier.
To me, it's still a Squier. If it sounds good and plays good to you, then buy it. My only concern would be that you want to use it for 10 years. Depending upon how much you play it, the frets might become an issue. Replacing the frets on a $150 guitar just doesn't make economic sense.
I play anything from clean and as far into distortion I will go is Led Zep.

I love Eric Clapton songs.

Maybe I'm gonna use a Roland MicroCube.

I play an acoustic now. Thats gonna become my first electric guitar.
Quote by KG6_Steven