I just got my first cab/head. I bought them separately, so I am wondering what plugs into what.

The head is a line 6 Valve HD100, cab is a Randall 412 XL(not sure on the exact model)

The cab has an input for 4 ohm mono, or 16 ohm mono, and the head has output for 4 ohm mono or 16 ohm mono.

My question is, do i use the 4 ohm or 16 ohm?
Ibanez prestige
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Deltatone 5 string bass

Line 6 Valve HD100
Randall 412 XL with V30s
Either as long as they match.

I'm going to assume you know to use a speaker cable; an instrument cable will fry if you try to use one to connect a head and cab.
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
Last edited by justinb904 at Jun 12, 2010,
I did not know that Justin. Thanks. This is my first time with this stuff. Will just the cable fry, or will it hurt the amp?
Ibanez prestige
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Deltatone 5 string bass

Line 6 Valve HD100
Randall 412 XL with V30s
It could potentially hurt the amp too. Anything from a blown fuse which is easy to replace to catastrophic failure in the poweramp which means you would be looking for a new amp. What actually happens is dependent on the amp design.
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
So is there any difference in sound/power/etc from using 4ohm or 16ohm if i match them?
Ibanez prestige
Schecter C-1 Hellraiser
Deltatone 5 string bass

Line 6 Valve HD100
Randall 412 XL with V30s
I really doubt the cable would fry. It'd cause huge stress to the output transformer though which is arguably the most expensive part of your amplifier.
So yeah, use a speaker cable!

16 ohms might be marginally (possibly inaudibly) quieter than 4 ohms I suppose?
100w Peavey Valveking Head
Mesa Rectifier 4x12 Standard Cab
Ibanez RG 321
Boss DD-7
iSP Decimator x2
BBE Boosta Grande
Modded Crybaby
MXR Blue Box
Numark Power Conditioner
Korg DTR-1000