Hi.

Summer has started and I have three months before heading off to college. I decided to learn some guitar to hopefully carry on this talent for the rest of my life. I'm only 17 years old right now.

My brother is a guitar player, but I don't think he has had any formal lessons aside from a handful as a kid.

I'm a piano player. I started about a year and a half ago, originally self-taught. I started to take courses at my high school and eventually became decent. I had no musical background whatsoever, so I had to go through learning how to read notes (which is a breeze now). My teacher had a doctorate in music theory, so he pushed that on me like no tomorrow. I know more theory than I should... from how major/all the minor/chromatic/pentatonic/etc scales are made, modes, modulation, progressions, a bunch of stuff about chords, technique, etc.

Hopefully knowing these things will make playing other instruments easier...! To get a measure on my skill level on piano, I most recently learned this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdy47hIyhAU which took me around two weeks to get down smoothly.

-----------
Now I have quite a few questions on guitar.... feel free to answer any of them if possible!

Should I start playing guitar? Its a beautiful instrument, but I don't want to give up all the work I put into playing piano.

I know there are different "styles" for the guitar. I love acoustic guitar, and I don't see how people can choose electric over the classical guitar. I want to learn how to play fingerstyle guitar, but is that too hard?

How long will it take for me to get decent?

Tabs or sheet music? I can read sheet music easily, for piano at least. Yesterday I looked up how to read tabs, and it literally took me less than a minute to start playing a simple melody.