Page 1 of 2
Hey guys.
I'm new to guitars overall. And I'd like to be able to play Electric Guitar and Bass, and some people I know that have played for a long time told me it'd be best to start with guitar and move onto bass when I'm good on guitar.

So I'm looking for a good versatile electric guitar and amp, etc, for around £400.

Imagine that I'm giving you the money to buy me some great stuff for the money.

Thanks.
-DreadAlert-
Theres 100000000000000 threads around this topic, But why not.

What sort of music are into?
What colour is your hair?
Are you into religion or any cults?
Scrunch or fold?
Er..

I'm into anything with rhythm. From RnB to funk to metal (but no cannibal corpse crazyness).
My hair is long and auburn.
I'm an atheist, so religion/cultism is a no-no.
..Fold.
Where do you live? If there are any guitar stores in your area, I suggest you go check them out. See what guitars are within your budget, try them out, see what YOU like and think feels good in your hand. If you can gather up a few choices like this, it'll be easier for us to recommend which one to get.

As for the amp, I'd say that a Peavey Vypyr is pretty much the best cheap amp on the market at the moment. It sounds decent and it's damn versatile. If you're just practicing and not playing with a band, I'd say that a 15-watt version is plenty big.

Hope this helps you out, man.
Gear:

Guitars: Ibanez SV5470F, Ibanez Xpt700, Fender MIM Standard Stratocaster ('04-'05), Jackson Ps-2
Ashton AG200,
Amps: ENGL E530, Bugera 6262-212,
FX: TC Electronics G-major 2, Behringer EQ700, Morley Volume / Wah
There are a good few instrument shops in my city, so I guess I could go and look.
But so far from looks only, I like Jackson, ESP LTD, Gibson and Ibanez guitars.
Some good advice here. With your budget, you're probably looking at ESP or Ibanez. You probably won't get a Gibson for that much, so look at Epiphone instead - Epiphone is owned by Gibson and most of their guitars look the same.