Hello people, I've got a couple of questions concerning the metal music and instruments that do the best job in making it. I'm new to music making, just bought my first guitar, a Fender American Special Strat and a Egnater Rebel 30W amp to go along with it. Now, I know that most of you agree that strat's aren't the best choice for metal, but I have to work with what I have here. Anyway, I plan on replacing the pickups to get that raw sound, so I'd appreciate some experienced players advice on a good metal pickup for a strat. Also, I'd like an opinion on the egg amp, and if some of you guys tried it for this type of music, how was it? The type of music I wish to create is in the grounds of Black Metal.

The second thing is that I will be investing in another instrument soon (also routed for metal), and I had a Gibson Sg in mind. So considering the raw sound expected, what type Sg would you recommend, etc.

Regards, SeriousMan.
How is your strat set up. do you have an HSS configuration? if so, i recomend a few different pick ups. if you want a really metal sound you can go with the seymour duncan invaders. i think they're the sh-8. I use a seymour duncan sh-6 distortion in the bridge of my ibanez and i love it. another great one that i've heard good stuff about is the dimarzio d-activator. but most metal guitarists choose the active pickup sound, and if you only plan on using your bridge pick up you can get on active and only run it. i know there are ways to use bolth passive and active together, but i'm not familiar with how to do it. i run passive pickups because i like to have that slight bit of flexibility on my sound. some actives don't do clean very well.