As the title suggests I am new to the whole recording aspect of music. I am really interested in setting up a basement studio and recording guitar/vocals, and possibly making my own beats and such. Could anyone point me in the right direction with products and websites, etc. The only equipment I have right now is a Schecter C-1 Classic, Vox Valvetronix, a windows XP computer, and an old Casio electronic keyboard. Thanks
What do you think of those packages at Musciansfriend.com like

This
Are these worth it or are they just a bunch of crap?
Quote by ColbyHink
Go to a music store, or craigslist, and try to find a USB Mixer. Normally you would get a mixer and an interface, but a USB mixer combines the two. There are less options as far as preamps go, but its great for beginners. So set up your mixer with your laptop, it might come with some audio production software, if not, your going to have to buy your own. Your also going to need a microphone to mic your voice or guitar speaker with. I would suggest a Sure SM57 for guitar and a Sure SM58 for vocals. Both are about 100$ average around where i live.
I hope this helped

+

No, i think that would be a waste of money to be honest. If i were you i would search your local craigslist or ebay every once in a while and do your research and slowly build your setup, getting the best deals possible.

Leads me to think you have no idea what you're talking about. You don't want a USB mixer. The Preamps are terrible, they aren't easy to record with and they are very hard to find used. Buying a USB mixer is a bigger waste of money than buying the package he thought about getting (which is pretty much everything you need to get a good studio started) Do some research before you post blindly on something that has been brought up hundreds of times on this board.