so i've been playing bass for 7 years but want a new guitar for my birthday. I've been playing acoustic for a couple years and want an electric. I've got decent experience but I just want something to mess around on in my dorm room, so i don't need anything that expensive. I was thinking either a Squier Strat or SX Furrian P90. I know they're both pretty "low end", but need some help.

Price limit: $125ish

Thoughts?
i cant speak for the sx but i have a squier strat and ive always liked it. its lasted me about 5 years and the only problem ive had is the input jack is just starting to play up so im replacing that this week.

best advice that i or anyone here can give you though is to go to a guitar store and play the 2 guitars, and see which one you like better.
I actually started off with a Fender Starcaster. It's like you said a very low end guitar but honestly it never let me down. So in my opinion go for the Squier. Also the body of the squier is a little more comftorable to rest on your leg while sitting down than the SX.
I currently own a Squier, and I have played an SX extensively (bought it as a gift for someone).

From my experience I can offer you this:

My squier (when stock) had better electronics, hardware, and set-up. The SX definately had a better fretjob than the squier but in everything else it didn't come as close.

Although both very cheap guitars, the SX felt a lot cheaper. Squiers are also really good guitars to modify and get used to guitar anatomy (swapping electronics, hardware, etc.)

So in my honest opinion, the Squier.

NOTE: I would try to find a used Squier from the 80's, they run for a little under $200 used but they are excellent for the price.
I don't believe in signatures. Ah, sh...