Ok, so as of now, I've been teaching myself on how to play the guitar for about 6 months. The first few months have been great, it seemed like I was gonna be great after a year but right now, I've pretty much hit a wall. Like, I don't know what to do. I think the best way out of this is to get lessons, but we can't afford it right now. So do you guys have any tips for a self-taught player like me? I really want to get better, like at least to the point where I can play Sweet Child O Mine perfectly or something. And could I still become a great player even if I've started playing at the age of 15? I've read some things that for a beginner that age is pretty old.

And if you guys also have time, can you please check some of my guitar videos on youtube (http://www.youtube.com/user/xXeCkZ17Xx) and give me some feedback (like if I'm doing something wrong, etc.)?

Thanks.
You can become a great player even if you start at 25.

I only watched one of your videos, but your playing seems clean and accurate which is good. One thing I would work on is not moving your forearm so much when picking individual notes, you want to get the motion out of your wrist instead. And relax a little more, you like slightly uncomfortable but this is more of a performance tip than playing.

Other than that, you're doing well my friend. Keep up the good work and keep practising.
Also listen to more music... sweet child o mine... seriously...

Try out some Steve Vai, Paul Gilbert, Yngwie Malmsteen, John Petrucci, Jeff Loomis, Michael Angelo Batio for some serious guitar work. I know after i started listening ot more complicated music, I could see all these techniques and styles that i never would've heard before.

Toodles!
- Ibanez S470 (2004)
- late 70's vintage Fender Stratocaster (USA)
- VOX VT100 Amp
- Digitech Whammy Pedal
- Weeping Demon Wah Pedal
- Visual Sound Volume Pedal
- MXR Micro Amp
instead of of weekly lesson, try to have monthly lesson, perhaps you can afford it this way......