So, here's the usual story. I'm pretty new to guitar, ya know? Well, I've been playing for about 2 years and I don't even feel like I know as much as I should know. I'm impatient when it comes to learning by myself. I don't like reading alot, it reminds me of school. But, I learned you have to to become a great musician. [:

Uhm, I don't know if anyone is willing to tell me alot. But I really have alot of questions. Like, about distortions and etc. Like, Does the quality of the guitar depend on how it would sound through a distortion? And when you pick electric guitar strings, what's the difference between soft, medium, and hard strings?

Things along those lines, but if you could answer some of these, I'd greatly appriciate it and I'd love you forever! DDDDD

More question Furthere downn vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
<33333
Last edited by xshatteredxjuvi at Jun 16, 2010,
What exactly is your question? Heavier strings are easier to pick and stay in tune better but harder to bend.
quality of guitar generally dont affect how they'll sound through distortion. the exact opposite is true of a clean channel however, which is generally what you want to base guitar quality on.

as for strings, the thicker the string, the stronger the tension. this means a few things: you can tune lower and it will hold tune better with thicker strings; bass response will be slightly higher. thick strings are a tad harder to bend however. lighter strings can still hold tune, but will just flop around at lower tunings. they are very easy to bend (and very easy to break as well if youre not careful).

anything else?

PS: sorry for the wall of text. forgot about that reading part.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.