Hey I'm a 24 year old guitarist from Wollongong, Australia. Bout an hour south of Sydney for those of you who are familiar with Australia.

I've been playing guitar since 19ish and I'm at that stage where my playing is getting pretty decent and credible. I'm thinking when I finish University next year of possibly moving to America or the UK for a year or 2 to try and give it a go playing in a band. Worse comes to worse I get a year or 2 holiday and I'm right back where I started.

I play mainly indie rock etc. Mainly Garage Rock, Post-Punk revival a bit of blues etc. So white stripes, Black keys, Oasis, The Kooks etc.

I'm ofcourse going to think bout this all quite allot before I make a decision but which nation do people think is better for that music scene, America or the UK and which cities also? i know the major ones but I'm not 100% sure which cities have the indie scene booming :P
Rock was born in America, and it hasn't gone anywhere.

EDIT: ↓↓↓ Uh, no, this thread will be completely unbiased. >_> <_<

stick to the plan dammit
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
█████████████████████
██████████████████████
█████████████████████

LET'S GO BUCKS
Last edited by AeroRocker at Jun 16, 2010,
Post-Punk = UK
Garage Rock/Blues = USA
Post-Rock = Canada
Twee, Dream Pop, Shoegaze, Baroque Pop, and every other indie subgenre = Doesn't matter.

EDIT: There are few American shoegaze bands, actually.
Last edited by RawPower218 at Jun 17, 2010,
i don't know too much about indie, but the san francisco area has a great music scene for pretty much any genre imaginable.

also austin, tx
Go Veg.
All the best guitarists come from England. But Australia is the greatest country in the world.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.

"And give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer, and he doesn't become whoever, you know. He doesn't become us."

Holy crap, check this out!
Stay in Australia.
Gear