hi people! this guitar forum seemed pretty nice so i thought it'd be an appropriate place to ask.

some background info:
guitar i have is an encore blaster series(i think? can't remember, got it from argos years ago..) and its an electric guitar.
im 17 years old, and im not fat or anything so my hands/fingers are pretty average sized..

anyway im trying to follow the 'Learn & Master Guitar with Steve Krenz' video series (is that a good thing to do by the way? i'm a complete beginner and it seemed like the best learning option besides a teacher which i cant afford)

i refuse to go past the first lesson because..i cant even get past one of the first things he teaches! i cant make the C chord sound right at all,and im not sure if its because im not pushing down the strings hard enough at the frets or if its to do with my strumming

(i dont have a plectrum/pick thing right now so im trying to use my hand to do it, could that be the problem?) and sorry if this is a dumb question, but i really want to learn and its frustrating not being able to progress!
Last edited by qais at Jun 19, 2010,
You can strum with your fingers until you get a plectrum, don't worry about it finger strength takes a little while. None of us could play straight off, make sure you are pressing the strings down firmly and not muting any of the 'open strings' accidentally to get a nice full sounding chord.

Edit: In regards to the post below me; I started on chords on an acoustic and forcing myself past that pain barrier quickly allowed me to progress. Breaking it down like that has no perceptible benefit. Practice slowly and make sure you aren't cutting corners.
Last edited by stephen_rettie at Jun 19, 2010,