Hey guys, first thread in a while.

I'm moving back to the States in the Fall from China (going to college, yay!), and I need some recommendations for good practice amp. I'll probably bring my current guitar over, or buy an EC-1000 there, but the voltage difference makes my current amp impractical for the States. I mainly play metal or hard rock, so what's a good amp to get for my dorm?

EDIT: Can't believe I forgot to put budget. I'm looking to spend around $200 bucks. I'm a student, so less is better. I don't need it to be too loud or quality that great, just good enough for me to practice.
Last edited by thirdykal at Jun 20, 2010,
You could just get an adapter to convert the voltage.

But if you want something new instead, tell us how much you're willing to spend.
I would probably say a Peavey Vypr or if you have more money, a 6505 112
MY METALZ YOUTUBE CHANNEL

Quote by angusfan16
Okay UG where's my refund and free xbox. I need It for my 80 yr old grandma. She needs a new flower pot
Sorry guys, I forgot to put my budget. I've edited the first post. But I'm looking to spend around $200, hopefully less. Even bringing over my amp is difficult. Also, at least when I used an adaptor on my US devices here in China, through an adaptor, the adaptor really heated up the room and was a lot less power efficient.
Peavey Vypyr (modeling amp, 200 dollars for the 30 watt combo)
Roland Cube 20 x (transistor, seen it for 160 dollars)
Laney Cub 10 (tube, seen for 200 dollars)

Those are 3 I'd be looking into, but your mileage may vary.
Ceci n'est pas une signature.
sup dude, just a heads up, at my school they're real strict about amps because of the whole "noise" issue, which is bull considering there are screaming drunk girls in the hall every night...but i digress. i suggest anything with a headphone port, or even going DAW (i.e guitar rig which i highly recommend, and it comes with an interface so you can even record if you want. it runs at $199)
hope that helps.
-James