Hey guys, I don't usually hang around the GG&A forums, but i got some questions.

Basically I'm doing some research right now as I look for a new amp.
I just spent $900 on a used guitar, so if I go and buy anything over $150 my parents may kill me.

Basically I gotta wait till next summer before making any purchases.
Right now I have limited experience with many tube amps. I've played religiously on my friend's Peavey Classic 50 whenever I hang out with him, but I kinda want an amp for myself.

I'm looking for a versatile amp that can handle everything from high gain, to soft cleans. (I'm lookin for tubes, getting tired of digital modelling.)
I'm looking at a budget of $300-$500 MAX
You can recommend stuff over the budget as long as it's under $1000. I may get lucky and find a better job by the time i'm prepared to purchase.
I'm willing to look used if I can find something.
The amp needs to have enough power to handle playing with a drummer (and maybe a whole band in the future).
BUT
It needs to be quiet enough to play in an apartment/condo because I'll be moving into one when I go to university.

I play a shitton of power metal, and from the links below you might be able to tell that it's Japanese power metal. But I also play some jazz once in a while, as well as low gain rock. Which is why it needs to be versatile.

Some examples for tones I'm going after:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWdgZRVnTmM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TeSoC7cFrkE&playnext_from=TL&videos=JQEwGiDmb5M&feature=sub (The first two samples mainly, but the rest is the same lol)

Thanks in advance.
Last edited by siverstorm at Jun 21, 2010,
used Carvin Legacy

not super common in Canada though, mind you they are only like $1100 new I think. X100Bs can be found more easily for around $400.

^ Mesa Nomads can be found cheap too
I know it's bad etiquette to bump but I would've figured more people could've helped me out?