I am primarily a self-taught guitarist, only using online resources to help me out. I feel like my technique is where I want it at for the moment, but I guess I'm kind of hung up on the whole scale thing. I like to work on lead/rhythm equally, but when I go to solo I just kind of get a headache. Let me describe why, and go into how I taught myself scales.

First off, I have learned the A, C, D, E, F, and G major scales all over the fretboard as well as their modes and relative pentatonic scales. Then I have learned the A, B, C, C#, D, E, F, and F# minor scales all over the fretboard as well as their modes and relative pentatonic scales. I realize that some of those are the same scales, but I thought I'd break it down into how I look at things in terms of either major or minor. I know how to play in the modes, as well as what notes bring out their sound.