I've been playing guitar for many many years, and have played most songs that are too fast for down-picking as alternate picking. However, I've been developing my down-picking speed as this tends to make rhythm playing, as in fast thrash metal, sound a lot better, to me anyway.

So how do I develop the stamina needed in my right hand to push myself faster and faster? (aside from just playing and playing) Is there any other physical exercise I can do to develop down-picking speed?

As an example of down-picking speed, I can play Jump In the Fire all downpicked at the correct tempo. However, I can't quite play the Tornado of Souls verse section all down-picked. Is it just a question of more and more practice, or there something else I can do to supplement the guitar playing?

(The ultimate goal would be Master of Puppets all downpicked. Right now I play VV^VV^VV^ on the intro, which sounds cool too.)
Ibanez AF105VB
Ibanez RG2550Z
MIM '92 Fender Strat
Peavey Triumph 60
MXR-108.
and that's it. done buying stuff. probably.
I think your ultimate goal should be Origin's Antithesis. All downpicked.

Seriously though, it's just practice. If you find your hand getting tired it either does not have enough stamina or you're tensing up. A tensed up arm is using more energy than needed and restricts blood flow. Not good.
Gear:
- Bugera 333
- VJ & VJ cab
- Jackson JS30
- TS9

Bugera Users Militia. We are horrible people. With a sprinkler fetish.
~ BUM: For all things extinguishing

Rackmount Tube Amp Project <<< Updates!
James Hetfield holds his pick with 3 fingers (Thumb, Index and Middle), which probably aids in the process of all down picking. Also, tattoos and a beard might help...
ESP Horizon NT-II
Schecter Hellraiser C-1
Peavey 6505
Orange PPC412
Maxon OD808
ISP Decimator G-String
Boss TU3
Quote by Mopy
James Hetfield holds his pick with 3 fingers (Thumb, Index and Middle), which probably aids in the process of all down picking.
Probably not.