Hi guys.

Basically, i'm looking into buying a new desktop PC for recording purposes among other uses like occasional gaming, school work, and internet usage, and want to know what the minimum system requirements i should be looking at are.

That was the short of it... The long story is i'm a hobby-ist. I want to record some songs that me and a few band members make using an audio interface (probably firewire). My 3 year old laptop really isn't up to this at the moment, and having no idea about computer specs until about a month ago really didn't help me identify what i was actually looking to get out of buying a new PC.

One of the main problems for me is budget. After buying a DAW, mics, an audio interface, monitors, etc, i will inevitably rack up a pretty big bill. Being a student i can't particularly justify spending about £1000 all at once on all this stuff. I don't want to get a load of crap for a few £100 just to have it outdated and have my recordings a muddy mess, but at the same time i want the money spent to be justified.

Another problem is i really don't want to over do it. What i mean by this is going out and buying a PC with 8gb RAM, an i7 processor, and windows 7, when i simply may not need it. I understand that hardware and software is constantly evolving but are these products mentioned too advanced for the interfaces/sequencers on the market? I.e, when i get my PC home, will my presonus interface and Pro-toolsnot work on it?

Maybe it would help if i ask what you guys use? E.g what system specs, audio interface, the purpose of the equipment you own, and your opinion of it?

Note: I was looking at getting a Dell Vostro 430 desktop, but have heard everywhere that Dell are very poor quality. I am slightly blinded by owning a Dell laptop for tha past 3 years and never having a problem with it. Are the complaints about Dell legitimate or 'bandwagony'?

Thanks in advance, i appreciate any and every response!
Ibanez RG370DX
Schecter C-1 Classic