I've been offered a broken crybaby wah for £20 which I might buy simply for the enclosure, strip it bare and make something with it.

I was thinking along these lines:

Volume pedal
Octave Shifter

Any other cool ideas would be greatly appreciated.

So yeah, I'm a complete noob at electronics and I wouldn't know how to go about making something like this.

Many thanks,

Dan
volume pedal would be the best bet for a noob. i doubt anyone on this board has the ability to make an octave shifter as that deals with dsp stuff. digital isnt for the everyday builder

you could put a feedback loop in the enclosure, having the intensity of the loop be the controll on the shell.

you could buy a cheap delay pedal (danelectro) and mod it so one of the pots on the delay is controlled by the wah's sweep?
A volume pedal might be your best bet. Geofex, AMZ, diyguitarist, all offer good stuff. If however you know what's wrong with the wah you can quickly implement it to be a volume pedal. Check out the ultimate pedal building thread for more ideas as well.
Thanks for the quick responses.

I want to make it into something I'd actually use, going to get rid of my Boss ME50 soon and get single effects pedals and I think having a volume pedal would be cool.

I liked the idea of a feedback pedal - I actually don't have one on my boss me50 (just have to put full drive on OD channel and press OD pedal - not practical really). How would I go about this?

I forgot to mention I am in UK - any links to stuff I can buy to fit inside etc would be appreciated.
i kinda feel like the best thing to do would be find a simple schematic that you like, and build it into the enclosure. use the wah pot as one of the controls. something like a phase 90 with the knob being controlled by the foot pedal would be badass.