So ive been playing guitar for two years now. But I'm self taught, and if anyone who has self taught themselves knows... you basically just play songs you like, then try to make cool riffs yourself. I have gotten a few books on beginner theory and pentatonic scale, so i am sort of educated on all that. But I cant even name the notes all the way down a string. I have no idea what an F sharp is or a C minor. I Know there cords, but I only know this because Ive tried to learn them, but to no avail. I just know certain chords because they sound good to me, not by their names or why they sound that way.

What im asking for help is, if anyone here knows any books or websites or anything that I can do to learn all this and help progress me as a guitar player and musician.

Sorry for the rant btw, thanks!
Quote by gquady09
musictheory.net will teach you everything you need to know.

but thats on a fricken piano. I want to know for a guitar, or is it the same?
Don't worry mate, the differences between piano and guitar are slight... well ok they've got 20x more octaves on the piano, but we've got distortion and bending *drool*
Quote by ThrashKing
but thats on a fricken piano. I want to know for a guitar, or is it the same?

Music theory is universal for all tone instruments as far as I know. So yeah, you just have to learn it and apply it to the guitar. There are certain things specific for guitar like knowing what chords or intervals look like, but theory can be applied to any instrument. Just be sure to try it out after you learn it!
Quote by DiminishedFifth
Who's going to stop you? The music police?
all right, so far its all just about the staffs and note duration. Its actually kind of interesting. I always thought music ( the classical way of writing it) was so hard and complicated to learn.
It can be tricky at first, but most if not all of the great guitarists in history have extensive training in music theory. It will definitely help you improve as a player.