I'm relatively new to playing guitar. I'm currently playing a epiphone les Paul standard and I need to replace the strings. I play classic/hard rock, but also sone blues/jazz. Does it matter what kind of strings to buy, or do they all achieve about the same?
Can never really go wrong with .10s, I've talked with people who've played for over 50 years and they say .10s are the best. Not sure about brands though, I just hate D'Addario. Half the sets I've gotten from them break within a week.
I'm rgrockr and I do not approve of this message.
All preference. I use D'Addario's, I dont like Ernie Balls. Gauge depends on what tuning you use and also preference too. For E standard, 9s or 10s, I use 9s because the tension feels right, but the feel will change from guitar to guitar. 9s on my JPM are slightly stiff, but on one of my other guitars, they bend very easily.
Get 9 or 10 gauge.

I always stick with D'Addario, Ernie Balls get dirty and brake all the time.
"In modern music, a lot of people are really stuck on the example, asif it were the idea. It takes millions of examples to articulate an idea, so don't get stuck on the f*cking example." - Joshua Homme, 2008.
I love Ernie Ball Super Slinkys. They're 9s, great for David Gilmour style bendy playing. They're great.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.

"And give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer, and he doesn't become whoever, you know. He doesn't become us."

Holy crap, check this out!
I'm a huge Fan Of earnie balls, bit it's all preference

go for sizes 10 or 9 tho, you should test put multiple brands /styles
It's all preference and what tuning you use. My favorite strings are Ernie Ball Beefy Slinkys. But then again, I play in Drop C and D standard. For E, I would use 10's like everybody above recommended.