I've been playing guitar for 2 and a half years, classical and electric, completely self taught. Now I think bass is a logical proggression.
As first bass, I'm not going to spend a lot of money. Bass+amp for no more than 300 euros. A cheap thing to just learn on actually, so I can get a custom one later.

EDIT: I play from prog metal to soft rock. Not much blues/funk. Opeth and Muse/Radiohead brit-rock mostly.

Any model suggestions, common secrets and general tips?

Oh, and if I find a used one, what should I notice extra?
Thanks.
Last edited by ingames at Jun 24, 2010,
I love that you used the word "groovy".
Quote by korinaflyingv
On the come up we were listening to Grateful Dead and the music started passing through my bowel and out my arsehole as this violet stream of light. I shat music. It was beautiful.
Quote by Burgery
I love that you used the word "groovy".

+1

on topic: may I point you towards the FAQ at the top of the page, because the answers I was just about to give are pretty much identical to some of the stuff there.
Quote by UraniYum
Fuck you I'm trying to be caring and shit

Quote by Cb4rabid
Okay guys, I have a confession to make. Not really a confession since it's something that's been bugging me for awhile but I've always been in denial about it.

**** you gilly, it's not what you think
Thanks, but please feel free to speak. I want all the advice I can get.
I can't really give you any model suggestions, so many. However, make sure you're kind of... Playing interface (?), feels really comfortable. So basically, make sure it's set up nice. The worst thing in my opinion is getting a bass that has this really heavy action and poor intonation.
Learn a bass riff on your guitar and then go and play it in the store, if it plays well first time, it'll play well for most of it's life.