Hi guys, I'm pretty new to this so I'd appreciate all the help I can get. By new I mean I'm new to the forums and I recently joined for the following reasons:

My girlfriends birthday is coming up in a few months. We've been dating for almost a year and we love each other so very much and so I want to make her gift this year very special. Long story short, I took it upon myself several months ago to build her a guitar from scratch (I told her she was due for a baby sometime soon just to peak her curiosity) and I began teaching her a little bit earlier. My idea was that by the time her birthday comes around she will be good enough to handle her first electric on her own (currently she has two acoustics and is making beautiful and fast progress). I've set out to teach her slowly and right and I'm confident by the time her birthday comes around that she will know what is needed to take care of an instrument as well as to love and grow with it.

Here's the problem.

By scratch I meant that I would acquire all of the separate components either through purchases, friends, or my own guitars. She came out beautifully except for one thing. I cannot for the life of me get the wiring specs correct. I set out on a beautifully simple yet fully capable design.

A Strat style body with chrome black hardware and a single humbucking pup with a black single humbucker slot pickguard to match. My only issue turned out to be wiring the pickup. It's the Seymour Duncan P-rail and I wanted her to have the ability to dial into at least 3 or 4 different pickup selections. I used two 500k push/pull pots and a wiring diagram I got offline (because the diagram with the pickup had nothing on wiring the guitar with just one pickup. All of the given diagrams were for matching P-rail pickups). Here it is if you it helps: