Ive been working on the same songs for about 3 years. They are not overly fast songs
at 120bpm. Ive practiced excercises to a metrenome but I can never seem to get past 100bpm and somtimes I cant tell if im in time or not or else it will feel like im in time, but
it will be uncomfortable and when I stop the metrenome I feel my playing has actually gotten worse where I find even playing at a very slow speed like 50bpm becomes
that only just managable. Its getting boring and frustrating, when I pick up the guitar I cant play anything that sounds nice to me, I definitely don't enjoy it but I want to enjoy it and I want to get better. If I could practice and feel confident that Ive imporved Id
practice much more but in all 4 years Ive been playing its always been Ill play for a few hours and wont feel Ive made any imporvemnt at all.

I took up the keyboard recently I find it easier to practice with, I can learn a piece of music and just work on it and I improve and I find the more I play it the faster I can play it. Somehow its not like that with the guitar and I dont learn many songs on the guitar anymore since I when I usually come to the solo part and cant get it up to speed.

Ive tried working without the metrenome. It felt a little better to be free of the metrenome but I ended up just feeling lost. Id play through a few songs but then what, I have,nt gotten any faster.

Im really bored and frustrated with the guitar right now. And I hate the metrenome .
Im just sick of playing the same licks and songs over and over and not getting any better.
Play new songs? Have a positive attitude when playing, being mad at your guitar sure as hell won't make it any more fun or less frustrating. Otherwise you might have shit posture that prevents you from playing well, otherwise I can't really see how you couldn't have improved at all after 4 years.