Hey i am trying to find a nice guitar harmony for a riff i'm making for my band, and i have very little experience with harmonizing before. So i tried listening and trying to play some guitar riffs that i like that have harmonies. And i'm just wondering if anyone can help me with a riff real quick in this song by Rise to Remain: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5ItGXLqzgg
the guitars go into a harmony at about 0:30. Know the main riff that they harmonize goes something like(its in D standard tuning) :
D -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
F -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
G --------5h7-7--5h7-------------------------------------5h7-7--5h7-------5-7--10-9-
D ------------------------000-000-000-000-0-0------------------------000------------

Just listen to the intro riff and you'll get the picture. What i was wondering about, is if someone could help me find the tabs of the harmony bit that they play at about 0:30 over that riff. And maybe what kind of harmony method they used?
Last edited by linkage25 at Jun 25, 2010,
Learn theory.

And even without knowing anything about the band beyond "they're a bit metal-y" I'd say it's thirds.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
which means that they play the riff 3 frets higher or that its three notes higher in the scale that they're in?
Quote by linkage25
which means that they play the riff 3 frets higher or that its three notes higher in the scale that they're in?

Three notes higher in the scale.

Learn theory.