What have got here? A case? And what does it say…?!

My oh my….is that a sustainer pickup?

Aaaaha, a Fernandes!

Look at those curves....

Righto! Sorry for the crappy phone pics…..
I bit the bullet and accepted this wonderful axe from the fine folks at Fernandes. I’ve been gassing for a singlecut for a while now and I had my eyes on an EC1000, but luckily for me I took the time to try this out when it was handed to me because it just blew me away.
What we have here, Ladies and Gents, is a 2008 Fernandes Monterey Elite with (the custom option of) black hardware.

Small disclaimer: I’ve been reading a lot of reviews here on UG that I think are a little one-sided, with high scores for mediocre guitars. I will try and be as transparent and honest about this guitar as I can. I’ve been playing for close to 20 years and I must have played a few hundred guitars throughout the years and very, very few guitars are worth a straight 10. It’s a great guitar for me personally so I won’t attach any scores.
That said, I think everyone who is looking for a new guitar should at least give a Fernandes a try.
So without further ado, here goes:

Features:

Body: 5A Quilted Maple Top + Mahogany Back
Neck: Mahogany, Set Neck
Fingerboard: Ebony, 24 3/4" Scale,
22 Jumbo Frets, 14" Radius, Abalone Diamond Shape Inlays
Nut: Graphtech TREM NUT
Tuning Gears: Fernandes stock locking tuners
Bridge: Tune-O-Matic W/Stop Tailpiece
Features: FERNANDES SUSTAINER SYSTEM
Controls: 3-Way Toggle Switch, sustainer ON/OFF &
Mode Switches, 1 Volume, 1 Tone
Pickups: Neck : Fernandes Sustainer, Bridge : Seymour Duncan SH-4JB
Color: See-Thru Black
Weight: Heavier than a strat, lighter than an LP

Sound:
I run a Peavey 6505 through two Mesa cabs loaded with V30’s (yes, I play hardcore/metal).
I have the guitar set up to drop C (yes, I still play hardcore/metal) and strung with EB beefy-slinkies (0.11 to 0.52) in case anyone cares.