Hey I just started learning how to mix and record and I'm now realizing how difficult it is. Can you guys help me with this song I'm working on? It sounds okay but nothing spectacular. I know the solo sucks. I'm still practicing it but for now I just want to figure out how to mix it properly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ExFAJ5PSl_0
What are you going for?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAHellraiser
Go into Guitar Center and tell them you are willing to spend $3000 on as many Spider and MG half stacks as they can give you.
1. don't use guitar pro drums, get ezdrummer
2. work on mic positions and change amp settings to sound clean and tight
3. get a good mic (shure sm57)
4. try double or quad tracking
5. work with panning and volumes
6. USE REAPER IT IS AMAZING
7. just keep trying different things and experiment, you'll get better in time
whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Quote by EJD
Reminds me of that drunkard who ran out of beer... he was so desperate, he drank furniture polish.

He came to a horrible end... but a beautiful finish.
Well, I actually use a Pod Studio UX2 with Pod Farm so the tones come from my computer and interface. No amps whatsoever. And this is recorded into Reaper. Thanks ill try the other instructions
Holy shit, where do I start?

First off, get better drums. Not EZDrummer cuz its shit, go for Addictive Drums or Superior Drummer

Second, your guitars sound like utter shit. Find a good tone

Third, get a bass guitar in there to help it sound less like shit.

Fourth, holy shit this is terrible

Finally, fix your volume so its constant the whole time instead of shit I cant hear anything

I pressed the Vuvuzela button and it made the track 30 times better sounding than shit
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp