im new to recording and i want to know what ill need to start recording with somewhat good sound quality.

i want to mic my amp, have the mic go into my computer somehow, and then i need to know where i can get a cheap (preferably free) alternative to protools(i know about audacity, is there a better option?)

so what do i need to get sound from a mic into my computer?
this?

http://www.guitarcenter.com/PreSonus-FireStudio-Mobile-10x6-FireWire-Recording-System-105625826-i1471883.gc

will i need to buy a better sound card?

i obviously have no idea what im doing, but i would really like to start recording so what is the best cheapest way to do this?
I mic my amp, then run the mic to my mixer, and run the line out of the mixer to the line in of my PC. Works well, and I can't tell any difference at all compared to my friends interface in the end recording.
Last edited by Matt420740 at Jun 27, 2010,
Quote by Zach101
You'll need at least 1500 bucks to get a decent sound.

No, just no.

A good mic, interface and high end soundcard can be had for around $500 or even less if you do your shopping homework.
The site doesn't work for me.

...eh?
Quote by theogonia777
and then there's free jazz, which isn't even for musicians.

Quote by Born A Fool
As my old guitar teacher once said: Metal really comes from classical music. The only difference is pinch harmonics, double bass, and lyrics about killing goats.
Quote by Matt420740
No, just no.

A good mic, interface and high end soundcard can be had for around $500 or even less if you do your shopping homework.

A "good mic" alone is worth 500 $.
Quote by Zach101
A "good mic" alone is worth 500 $.

Ever heard of a SM57? Been good enough for pro's for years. You don't have to have the most expensive mic on the market with a big fancy name just to get a good sound.
Quote by Matt420740