Ive been playin guitar for 3 years now and Im realizing that I am not really good at solos and lately i've been learning rhythm parts only such as those of Metallica.

Is this common for guitarists to do? I just find it easier for me and trying to learn solos like that of Metallica is just frustrating and I give up.. I recently looked up on Youtube some vids of a guy playing BLS stuff and he says that you must learn your notes on the fretboard.. I just dont find it interesting to do this.. Am I the only one?
GETCHA PULL MUTHAFUKA!!
To be a lead guitarist you have to know more theory...if you naturally hear the rhythm parts and are better with chords and low-end stuff then maybe you should pursue more rhythm guitar stuff after all
If it's creative, true to your musical goal, and it sounds good, put it in the song.

1. Guitar, delay, verb, amp, and creativity.
2. Well-tuned acoustic piano and creativity.
3. A bottle of water.
I don't find that weird. I mostly play rhythm parts of songs, especially in songs like that of Metallica. I've sort of dabbled in playing solos and learning different solos from songs, but I still stick to rhythm playing, and I couldn't be happier.
Tons of people prefer to be rhythm guitarists than to be lead guitarists. I'm the same way, to be perfectly honest with you. But it never hurts to still learn some solo material.

Have you considered trying to learn solos from a different genre? Why not consider diving into the blues and getting into some local blues jams? It's easy to start soloing in the blues once you learn the pentatonic patterns, and it can be a lot of fun if you've got a group of guys together.

If you like rhythm a lot, why not consider looking into some jazz? Jazz can be known to have some pretty complex chord progressions and rhythm, and can look a lot more impressive than a lead part at times.

Don't be afraid to expand beyond just one genre of solos.
"Here I sit, beneath a lonely line."

~iband48's signature