Hey guys,

I have been playing guitar for 5 years now and about a year or two ago, I was told that my alternate picking was incorrectly done - it should be up down up down up down throughout the whole piece;
What I have been doing is this: I if downstroke the B string and the next note is on the E string, I will downstroke that as well which goes against the up down up down structure.

To me it makes more sense because your not wasting time by passing the string, then picking it on the upstroke. I also do this on scales as well. Up until know i didnt really care but now i am wondering if this could should be corrected before I spend more time trying to play faster.

Thanks!
Up down is much more natural and economical then downpicking. That will give u better speed in the long run. I'd relearn :P It's not gonna take u long anyways because up down is much more natural then down down.
Schecter Blackjack ATX C-1 FR
Schecter Hellraiser C-7
PRS Custom 24
SX Strat

Peavey 6505+
BUGERA 333XL
Laney LA412 Cab
Marshall AVT100 (Living at my friends place :P )
It's a really individual thing dude. If it works for you, then great. You should try both methods and see what you prefer. One technique won't necessarily work or be best for everyone.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.

"And give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer, and he doesn't become whoever, you know. He doesn't become us."

Holy crap, check this out!
the term for what you're doing is economy picking, which some people say is better than alternate picking. it's not at all a problem though, and if that's what works for you, than go for it.
Last edited by theogonia777 at Jun 27, 2010,
Keep in mind down picking isn't always a bad thing. Sometimes the style of attack it creates is ideal.
MINI enthusiast

@stevenpollock

My band: avenueofembers.com
Quote by neverspoiled
thank you stevenpollock..
the only Pit-head thats not a douche bag...right now anyway
=)