Hey guys. I'm an intermediate guitar player, but I'm a noob when it comes to amps, and all the technical stuff. I currently own a Line 6 Spider III 30 watt amp, but (for obvious reasons) I can't use it with my band. Although I use my bassist's cab with his fender head at practice, I'd like to have my own equipment, so I can let him use his own completely. I just bought a used Ibanez S540, and I'd like to keep my budget for the entire set (cab and head, and whatever else I may need) less than or at most $600. Please help me get a new amp UG!
Ok, before anyone else blasts you: You don't need a stack, and even if you did need one, for $600 you wouldn't be able to afford anything even REMOTELY decent.

That being said, what genres of music do you play?
I'd agree with phlip999. If you want to get an amp head/cabinet type setup, go for a 2x12 cabinet. for 600 dollars i'm not too sure what you would be able to do though...

maybe save up some more money or just get a higher end combo amp.

Quote by phlip999

That being said, what genres of music do you play?
Well, we really play anything we come up with. But hard rock, pop rock, and experimental mostly. Not metal, or anything ridiculously heavy. I would compare us to Wolfmother or something like that.
used Marshall JCM2000 combo
Jet City JCA20C
Egnater Tweaker combo

Any of those should be good for you, though you may want to try before you buy.
For a good half stack, you are going to have to go used to find anything in your price range, and even then I think you are stretching it. Look for a good used Marshall. If you can find a used Bugera 1960 or 1990 head used in your area, that would be about the cheapest head you are likely to find and would free up a fair amount of your budget for a good cabinet. With a half-stack or a full stack the cabinet(s) must be as good as the head or the sound just won't be there.
"Maybe this world is another planet's hell?" - Aldous Huxley
Quote by FatalGear41