Generally speaking humbuckers are better as single coils tend to be thinner sounding and are going to be much noisier with high gain, but you really didn't have to make a thread to ask this. Search bar + google will answer your question
Last edited by AxSilentxLine at Jun 29, 2010,
Quote by AxSilentxLine
Generally speaking humbuckers are better as single coils tend to be thinner sounding, but you really didn't have to make a thread to ask this. Search bar + google will answer your question

+1

Really the difference is the magnets used and the coil windings, I believe. I'm not an expert in pickup schematics though.

Generally a humbucker is preferred for metal because it has a thicker, beefier tone compared to an SC pickup.
Quote by AxSilentxLine
Generally speaking humbuckers are better

What a silly thing to say. The two pickups are different, and are great for different things. It depends on which style you play.

But yeah, ask google dude.
Marshall amplifiers are the truest purveyors of rock and roll known to man.

"And give a man an amplifier and a synthesizer, and he doesn't become whoever, you know. He doesn't become us."

Holy crap, check this out!
its all personal you can get double stack single coils like the ones the guys in iron maiden use or like the majority of people in metal, humbuckers are the main choice
Gear:
Gibson les paul 1957 re-issue gold top
Ernie Ball JP signature 7 string
Ibanez RG7620 7 string
Fender Strat 50's classic (mex)
Seagull 25th anniversary acoustic
peavy triple x head
Quote by seemeel
What a silly thing to say. The two pickups are different, and are great for different things. It depends on which style you play.

How so? TS is asking which is better for metal.

Humbuckers give a fuller tone desireable for most metal styles
Humbuckers eliminate 60Hz Cycle hum (the reason they are called Hum Buckers)
Humbuckers are generally hotter
Humbuckers are quieter than single coils with high gain