Hi~
Im just wondering what you guys have for recording setups and/or what you would reccomend....

I want to make a setup on my own and be done with having to rely on pro studios. I think in this day and age its possible to attain pro sound in the comfort of your own home. Anyways post up some mp3's, vids, and your opinions of the most economical way to set up pro home recording. By the way I am more interested in the set ups oriented towards the metal genre. I think that makes things more complicated

Thanks
Hiram/Thousand Year War
well im no pro...
but
my setup at the moment is.....

a 5€ msn chat mic .... with cubase and reaper .....

but
if things had gone right then at this point i would've had
-alesis multimix 4 (usb interface)
-shure sm57
-Samson c01 condenser mic
-proel LDsomething condenser mic

which was a total of about 430€ ... which isnt bad at all considering how expensive shit could get

and from what the guy at the shop told me, and a friend who owns a studio, also from things i've read, that setup would be pretty good for everything...

u can hear my 5€ msn mic recordings at www.myspace.com/666dod

enjoy!
Macbook Pro > Line 6 GX Pod > Guitar.
To produce sounds I use the POD Farm that came with my GX. Simple recording stuff but it works wonders to be honest...much better than the Garage Band sounds and effects.
Jackson King V KVX10
Line 6 Spider III 75 W.
Peavey 5150/6505 Combo to be owned at the end of 2010.
A pro studio will always win because the guy at the desk is more experienced and knows all he can about how his gear works.....not to mention he has a crapload of high end equipment to work with......

My home studio setup:
https://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=727964

I do a lot of radio imaging effects but also live streaming and podcasting.....so if ya think about it, a little of everything haha
Last edited by moody07747 at Jun 29, 2010,
well...
thats a really bold statement and definitely far from the truth: