Hey guys,

I've been playing bass for about 7 months now and have just recently got my first pedal. I already had a digitech rp-50 for my guitar that I got from my guitar teacher, and was fairly pleased with that. So I ended up getting a digitech bp-80 for my first bass pedal.
It's a satisfactory pedal and I'm still experimenting with sounds, but I know I'm eventually going to get more pedals to widen out my range and get a better sound out of my bass. My question to you is what types of pedals and which specific pedals should I get?
I think I'm going to get distortion, compressor, and EQ pedals eventually but I'm still unsure. Help would be appreciated.

BTW, I play all types of music but especially rock, and I'm in a rock/hard rock instrumental band.
I've tried an ODB-3 overdrive. I guess it's a good overdrive/distortion(?), but I felt I couldn't really vary the sound out of it. It gave a pretty even sound all the way, just with more/less distortion.
In contrast to the above poster, I'd actually recommend an ODB-3, if there's be a place for that sort of sound in the music you're playing. I think they're great for getting that sort of lightly overdriven sound (think of The Real Me by The Who).

I'd also recommend a Bass Big Muff if you play anything where fuzz would help. They're great for playing things such as Muse.

In terms of an EQ pedal, I'd say they're a bit hit and miss. It depends how limited the EQ on your amp is. Personally, my amp has an 11-band equaliser on, so I never found a place for an EQ pedal, it'd confuse things. If you feel you want more control over your tone though, by all means go for it.

When it comes to compressors, they can certainly be useful in certain situations (personally I hate using them, but I can see why you'd want one). From what I gather, you're far better off with a rack-mounted compressor than one of the generally inferior-quality pedal ones.