well i've been playing for about 8 or 9 months and i can play surprisingly well for how short of time I've been playing. The only problem is i either have to be shown how to play something or look up the tabs and I feel like I'm crippled by this because if theres not a tab then i really can't play it, is this bad? and if so how should I learn to play by ear?
Guitars:
LTD F-50
Yamaha EG-112
'77 Harmony
Roadworn Starcaster
Gretsch G5120

Amps:
Vypyr 15
Epiphone Valve Junior combo
Learning music theory will eliminate most of the confusion you are experiencing. The basics to learn would be:
1. Notes of the fretboard
2. Intervals (being able to find octaves is imperative)
3. Scale construction (major scale first)
4. Chord construction (specifically diatonic chords of the major scale)

Following that order would be most effective.

musictheory.net has very good lessons.
Oh yeah.

Quote by hildesaw
A minor is the saddest of all keys.

EDIT: D minor is the saddest of all keys.
you'll get there eventually.
I was chained to tabs for a long time.
I remember when I first started to learn by ear I would pause the first note in a song and I would slide my finger up the fretboard on a string until I heard the same note I was trying to reproduce. After a short while you'll get used to it and be able to hit the note without sliding to find it.
If you have a guitar buddy there is a little game you could play.
stand back to back with your guitars and take turns playing little licks or chords for the other one to reproduce.
alright thanks for the help especially at 5 in the morning, i've learned the scales, intervals and the notes already, i didn't really think of chord construction though, i think its more of i used to be a drummer and its just that its made me like tone deaf or something haha
Guitars:
LTD F-50
Yamaha EG-112
'77 Harmony
Roadworn Starcaster
Gretsch G5120

Amps:
Vypyr 15
Epiphone Valve Junior combo
Last edited by grungebaby at Jun 30, 2010,