How can I prepare for a college audition? I'm only a sophomore in highschool, but I want to start preparing myself to be the best bassist I can be. The college's I am looking at are mainly Berklee, Belmont, Loyola New Orleans, Indiana State, and Julliard.

I feel like I need to work on:
1. Reading music
2. Theory (improv/soloing)
3. Prepared piece (what are some jazzy, funky ones that are impressive and fun to play?)
4. Ear training
5. Anything else?

If you could offer tips on how to learn and practice this and also some good college level pieces that'd be great! Thanks a ton!
Obama '08
I usually just lurk here, but I'll try to give you some advice. I can only speak for Berklee though, as it was the only music school I auditioned for (I did get accepted, btw)

1. For my audition, they put me into a practice room with one page of sheet music to read. That one page had 8 different lines of varying difficulty with each being probably 4 measures long, but I'm terrible with sheet music and only managed about four of them

2. As far as theory goes, they only had me play a short bassline over a I/IV/V progression. VERY basic walking was enough here.

3. I played David Hull's arrangement of Mozart's Turkish Rondo (look it up on Youtube, I can't remember the exact title of that video, but it was cheesy and his tone was terrible). I made a few mistakes, but the piece itself left a great impression. I could see a Marcus Miller or Stu Hamm piece going down fairly well.

4. As an ear training exercise, one of my auditioners just played a line on a guitar and they had me mimic it. Not particularly hard, if your eyes and ears are decent, you'll do fine.

5. The best advice I can give is relax, know your piece, and have fun. And although I was accepted outright, I was literally given nothing as far as scholarships go, so I chose not to attend. However, the facilities were great and I loved Boston, so if you can manage it, great, you'll probably enjoy it.