Hi

I'm a newbie to this so it will probably seem like a stupid question.

But I want to connect my guitar up to my computer to record onto my computer, what do I need? And whats the most cost-efficient (ie. cheapest) way to do this/cheapest 'item' I need to buy to be able to do this?

Thanks.
If your amp has a record out jack, you could get an adapter to plug that directly into your computer. Or, get and audio interface to record with, and some sort of DAW software, like audacity. Most interfaces will run you over 100 dollars if you want something decent.
Machine F**king Head \m/
Go for a USB interface. External soundcard.

Use Free amp modeling VSTs on clean signal.

=

professional sounding quality.
There is a guitar cord being manufactured that allows you to plug your guitar directly into a usb port. it has a 1/4" jack on one end and a usb jack on the other. it costs about 10-15ish dollars. It bypasses the need for an interface.

I use it, and it obviously costs waaay less than an interface, and I think it sounds better than using an interface.
Last edited by charles_ebarb at Jun 30, 2010,
^ Apparantly these USB guitar leads are rubbish...

I guess they are from the price but I have no experience with them...
This would be the cheapest thing to but for about 3 bucks, and download Audacity which is free to record. If your amp has a Line Out or a headphone jack then use that, if not then plug your guitar straight in but don't expect it to sound good.
Quote by Kämpfer
^ Apparantly these USB guitar leads are rubbish...

I guess they are from the price but I have no experience with them...

In terms of sound quality, I think an interface would clutter up your signal. and this cord really saves the need to buy an interface. I dunno, but I can't imagine myself wasting money on an interface, when there is a simple cord that does the same thing, for less.
Quote by pwrmax