I am new to pedals and I am looking to buy my first one soon. I was wondering what kind I should get. I like to play metal, classic rock, metalcore, and blues. I am just looking for a good beginner pedal. (Most likely distortion or something like that. Any advice would be much appreciated.
firstly... what amp you playing through?
Cause usually it's better to upgrade that, instead of slapping good pedals into a hunk of shit.

Toodles!
- Ibanez S470 (2004)
- late 70's vintage Fender Stratocaster (USA)
- VOX VT100 Amp
- Digitech Whammy Pedal
- Weeping Demon Wah Pedal
- Visual Sound Volume Pedal
- MXR Micro Amp
Digitech DF7 is a good and reasonable distortion modeler. It gives many varied distortions. Other than that I have good experiences with the Line 6 PODs which give a wide range of not just distortion, but also other effects. Either of them are good choices, but the Line 6 is by far the more versatile.
In price the DF7 is cheaper, but also way simpler. Since the DF7 is a stompbox and made in metal casing it is way more durable than the L6 Pod which is made in a plastic casing and as such is not meant for floor use.

Short version. DF7 Cheap for stage use. L6POD more expensive, but more suitable for studio/room use.
I think every guitarist should own a DS-1 at some point in their lives. It's the pedal that got me into pedals.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520
Peavey Predator USA
Douglas Grendel 725
Line 6 Pod HD500X
and steer away from Boss pedals as they are insanely overpriced... atleast in my country.
i dont have a great amp. i have a silvertone smart IIIS. I would also like to spend less than $100 dollars on one.
Quote by Bovaiveu
and steer away from Boss pedals as they are insanely overpriced... atleast in my country.

Do they perform well?
Quote by jameszq7
Do they perform well?