Ok, well until today when I discovered this amazing forum, I had no idea what a 'fret' or a 'bout' was, so I am a complete beginner at guitars however I am very eager to learn how to play. I've now extensively read the excellent help pages, FAQ's, and countless reviews about different acoustic guitars, their prices, their tones and their durability on this forum and I hope I'm now ready to ask a few questions myself!

First of all, as I've never actually played a guitar I have no real preference for what sounds I want to create. I want to try and impress friends, so I want a nice strumming sound as opposed to picking - I really want to get a good rythym going and beat rather than just picking out a slow tune! - something fast paced would be great - a bit like 'Mumford and Sons' or 'Bright Eyes' - I really love that kind of fast paced folky/indie kind of sound, or even 'Violent Femmes'.

So yeah, that's what I want, a guitar suited to strumming, maybe folk/indie . Does anyone know what kind of brand would be suited to this?

Secondly my price range is anything below £150 (this is about $225 or EURO 183) - I want to try and get the maximum amount of value out of this price tag.

I have found a couple of guitars that may be suited to these preferences, the Yamaha F310 in particular, especially as it has great reviews, a nice look (I prefer the lighter coloured wood, I think Cedar/Spruce as opposed to Mahogany dark), and also a great price tag for entry level. Secondly, I looked at the Fender DG-85 which is a bit more expensive but, again has good reviews, is suited to a beginner/intermed. and folk/indie.

Anyway, I guess above I am just scattering my thoughts rather than asking questions - really I'm just trying to find a beginners guitar under $225, with a nice strumming sound and a light wood. I'm planning on visiting a few guitar stores around my area (London) and having a real play at some of the guitars