This will be my first guitar build. I'm a newbie with everything from wiring to painting to installing a trem, so some help along the way would be much appreciated. I'm building an Ibanez Destroyer, because I like the shape, and because Phil Collen and Adrian Smith are among its users, both of whom I admire and have seen live, the latter I will be seeing a second time in Toronto on Saturday. Psyched. Photos are off of my cellphone and are a bit more blurry, which is odd because my Omnia II has a 5.0 mp camera. Anyways...

I chose a poplar body off of eBay for $120 US plus ~$50 shipping/customs to Canada. Not too bad, it looks badass and is all good construction-wise minus the fact the neck I bought doesn't fit in the pocket, so I will have to shave off a bit.

The neck was quick decision. Searched Ibanez neck on eBay and this popped up with less than an hour to go and I always liked the vines, and I like the Wizard neck on my Iceman, 24 frets, good to go. It's a Jem555 and I also got it for $120 plus $20 shipping and no customs at my door either. The fewer vines and dots combination I really like as well, because I like having visible fretmarkers on the upper frets, so that's a bonus. Don't really listen to Steve Vai but he's obviously incredible, so I don't mind having his sig on the 24th fret, although I may cover it with something custom.

Pick-ups were a no brainer, although I would have liked some nice colored ones DiMarzio offers. It's an F-Spaced Super Distortion for the bridge and Air Norton for the neck. Got them off of craigslist this time, for you guessed it, $120 for the pair. All my favorite guitarists use them and I've heard great things about them, so I should be happy with these.